a monarch and a dragonfly

Art

hello ~

I have not posted in over a month, mostly because I’ve not really made anything to post. But I recently bought some face paint and I painted some insects on myself, so I thought I might make a post about them.

This dragonfly was rather disappointing as it does not look very realistic. The details on dragonfly wings are very small, so it is quite hard to make the wings look nice. The body does not look realistic either, so all the pieces add up to be mediocre.

Here is a closer photo of the wings. I painted this on my leg just above my ankle, so it was quite an odd position to sit in as I painted it.

My butterfly is far better than my dragonfly. I actually made this monarch butterfly before the dragonfly, but I thought I would present the butterfly after so as not to underwhelm the readers when they see a poor dragonfly after a much better butterfly.

In the first photo, I had painted just the butterfly, but in the second photo, I added some metallic paint: gold to the yellow of the wings and a little bit of silver to the body.


I hope you enjoyed seeing my paintings! Thanks for reading and happy insects 🦋

4 thoughts on “a monarch and a dragonfly

Leave a comment