violet and viridian green makes… blue?

Limited Color Palette

Hello! Welcome to a new series: Limited Color Palettes. Basically, I am going to choose two to three colors that work together in a way that I like (not a random choice), and then make a piece. ⚠️Spoiler alert⚠️ All the pieces are florals, which was not intentional…

I am indecisive

I was split between doing violet and yellow green or violet and viridian green. The yellow green makes a really nice umber-y brown-y earthy color, and the viridian makes a really nice indigo/payne’s gray color. I decided to go with the viridian because the blue color was really pretty.

Color wheel

Here is my color wheel of violet and viridian green. I made half of the palette lighter than the other.

This is my sketch.

Blocking in some colors.

Adding some layers…

Indigo Bouquet

Here’s the finished piece.

I hope you enjoyed this post! I will be doing more limited color palette posts in the future. Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “violet and viridian green makes… blue?

Leave a comment