simple teardrop fish

Art

Hello! If you want to paint something simple but cute, then painting teardrop fish is for you! You can also use these to make more interesting paint swatches or thumbnail sketches.

Step 1: Sketch a teardrop, eyes and a mouth.

Sketch

It’s pretty self explanatory to draw them… I like making the eyes on the side really large. You can make the mouth happy, sad, mad. You can also add lineart to it, but I didn’t.

Step 2: Paint it in + Ideas

Painting in the fish

1 | (Top) A simple ombre.

2 | (Bottom Left) I made a little galaxy inside the fish by putting down a couple of blues and purples and then some black at the edges. Then I added some white gouache for some stars and planets.

3 | (Bottom Right) I made a little lavender scene by making some grass. Then I added some lavender watercolor and gouache to make the flowers. After I added the sky, but I should of added the sky before adding the grass and flowers.

Teardrop fish

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial on teardrop fish. If you made some, I would love to see them and put them in the gallery. Click here to fill out the gallery form. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment